Tribal RelationsSecretary's BioDepartment GoalsNine Tribes in South DakotaLinksFAQContact Us

Nine Tribes in South Dakota

Rosebud Sioux Tribe

       Rosebud Reservation map
          clicking on map will open a larger version

Government | Elections | Meetings | Education & Media | Leaders | Tribal Contact Information

Reservation: Rosebud Reservation; Todd, Mellette and Tripp Counties
Division: Teton
Band: Sicangu (Brule or Burnt Thigh)
Land Area: 882,416 acres
Tribal Headquarters: Rosebud, SD
Time Zone: Central
Traditional Language: Lakota
Enrolled members living on reservation: 21,245
Major Employers: Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Todd County School District
Rosebud Sioux Tribe's 2010 Statistical Profile (pdf)

diamond bullet Government
Charter: Yes; Constitution and Bylaws: Yes - IRA
Date Approved: November 23, 1935
Name of Governing Body: Rosebud Sioux Tribal Council
Number of Council members: (20) twenty Council members
Dates of Constitutional amendments: June 19, 1962, May 2, 1966, September 4, 1973, December 29, 1977, September 23, 1985, July 31, 1987, February 4, 1988
Number of Executive Officers: (4) President, Vice-President, Secretary, & Treasurer

diamond bullet Elections

The Rosebud Sioux Tribe has four Executive positions, including: President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The President and Vice President serve 3-year terms and the Secretary and Treasurer serve 2-year terms, their elections are staggered. Tribal Council members representing 20 districts serve 3-year terms and elections are staggered a year apart. The Primary election takes place in July of the third year with the General election taking place in August.

Number of Election districts or communities: 20 districts

Current Tribal Leaders (pdf)

diamond bullet Meetings
Meetings are held the second Wednesday and Thursday of the month and the last Wednesday of the month.
Quorum number: 11 members

diamond bullet Education and Media
Tribal College: Sinte Gleska University, Mission, SD
Radio Stations: KOYA 88.1 FM, KINI 96.1 FM
Newspapers: Lakota Country Times, Sicangu Sun Times, Todd County Tribune, Mission, SD

diamond bullet Leaders: Past and Present
Ben Reifel, a five-term U.S. Congressman, was born near Parmelee on the Rosebud Reservation in 1906. During his lifetime, he worked for the Bureau of Indian Affairs, served in the U.S. Army, and received a doctoral degree from Harvard University. Reifel ran for office in 1960 and served until his retirement in 1971. He died in 1990.

White Eagle was the first American Indian to sing lead roles in American musical theater and opera. He graduated from the prestigious Merola Opera Program at the San Francisco Opera and has performed with the Pennsylvania Opera Theater, Florentine Opera, Cleveland Opera, and others. White Eagle was a memeber of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe.

diamond bullet Current President: William Kindle

Rosebud Tribal Constitution (PDF)
Visit the Rosebud Sioux Tribe Web site

diamond bulletRosebud Sioux Tribe
PO Box 430
Rosebud, SD 57570-0430
Phone (605) 747-2381
Fax (605) 747-2243




Home | Secretary's Bio | Department Goals | Nine Tribes in South Dakota | Links | FAQ | Contact Us
State of South Dakota

©2011 South Dakota Department of Tribal Relations